Summertime and the livin’ is easy?

For most of my life – either when I was in school myself, or when my children are in school – I spend much of the school year thinking, “Oh, I can’t wait for summertime, when everything is not so scheduled.  Then I can really get some things done!”

Then summer comes and I get caught up in whatever it is that goes on – it doesn’t really seem to matter what it is.  When I wake up and realize that the summer is half over and I haven’t accomplished anything constructive, I start to think, “Well, I can’t wait for the school year to start.  Then we’ll be back on a normal schedule and I can really get some things done.”

Sound familiar to anyone?  This isn’t just an excuse for getting so behind on this blog – well, maybe it is – let’s call it an explanation.  Anyway, just letting you know that we’re still here and we’re still reading.  We both have our Watsons Go To Birmingham reviews halfway done, and we’ve realized that with school looming up in about one month, we need to switch gears from Swallows and Amazons – though it seems so appropriate for summer vacation – and start up on the school reading – so our next read is going to be Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. 

So please, don’t give up on us yet –  hope you’re all having a great summer!  Signing off with a photo from our vacation – us in Times Square at midnight – in the wee hours of the day Katie turned 13!  She took the photo for us.

Leave a Reply

